Encore Publications

Encore Publications was founded in 1992 and exists today as an independent publisher with an impressive range of printed music comprising over 650 items.

The catalogue enjoys a worldwide reputation as a specialist publisher of choral music, featuring the works of more than 100 composers. The church music and organ lists have evolved from the music of leading musicians and academics of the highest caliber, including Peter Aston, Sir Stephen Cleobury CBE, Jeremy Dibble, Edward Higginbottom, Sir Philip Ledger CBE, Richard Lloyd, Andrew Millington, Philip Moore, John Morehen, Martin Neary, June Nixon, Timothy Noon, Simon Preston CBE, John Sanders OBE and James Whitbourn, plus significant contributions by Bryan Kelly and Alan Ridout. This core activity is balanced by a rapidly growing range of instrumental and educational publications, plus a number of compositions for orchestra, such as the Christmas Cracker by Thomas Hewitt Jones or the Fairytale Sleighride by Adam Saunders.

Our customers include cathedrals, churches, choral societies, orchestras, schools, universities and colleges, as well as trade customers, in major territories including the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA. We also work with record companies and broadcasters, particularly those that have an interest in choral music.

We provide a comprehensive range of pieces including newly published items. If you are searching for music for the liturgy, we draw your attention to the Missa Brevis by Neil Cox, the Mass of the Redeemer by Martin Neary or Philip Moore’s vibrant Missa in Tempore Paschali with plainsong propers, as well as the new settings of the Evening Service by Richard Lloyd, Andrew Lumsden, Philip Moore and Randall Svane. Ronald Corp, Paul Edwards and Ashley Grote have also contributed original sets of Preces and Responses, while Jeremy Dibble has devised and arranged two sets of Responses based on the music of Elgar and Parry.

We encourage you to explore our choral publications devised for the different times and seasons in the Church year. Our new publications include original pieces and arrangements by Robert Ashfield, Peter Backhouse, David Blackwell, Giles Brightwell, Alan Brown, Stephen Doughty, Richard Elfyn Jones, Ashley Grote, Thomas Hewitt Jones, Emma Johnson, Richard Lambert, Philip Lawson, Richard Lloyd, Sarah MacDonald, Douglas Mason, June Nixon, Robert Quinney, Mark Swinton, Randall Svane, Stephen Tanner, Stephen Tappe, Alan Thurlow, Paul Trepte, James Vivian and Ralph Woodward.

In recent times, Philip Moore’s newly composed Requiem has been a flagship publishing project, adding to the existing catalogue, which includes three major choral works by Sir Philip Ledger: Requiem (a thankgiving for life), The Risen Christ (an Easter cantata with carols) and This Holy Child (a setting of the Christmas story with five carols). Choral works from the catalogue of Encore Publications have featured often in the Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from King’s College, Cambridge, as well as other major events including the royal weddings of H.R.H. Prince William to Catherine Middleton, H.R.H. Prince Harry to Meghan Markle, and H.R.H. Princess Eugenie to Jack Brooksbank.

We hope that you will find appropriate new repertoire for your musical needs.